Disclaimer: By posting on this web site it is accepted that you have agreed to our Terms. Please DO NOT publish copyrighted material/pictures without the owner’s permission, you are liable for any costs incurred.

Lightbulb How safe do I feel living in the Philippines ?

I've been visiting the Philippines for many years. I've lived in squatter areas, high-end subdivisions and plenty in between.

No I haven't always felt at ease.
    But I do now.

We live in what is loosely termed a high-end subdivision.
    It's a security gated village community. Yes, with high walls all around the village and quite a number of stationed security guards. These guards are also 'roving guards'. Means they ride around the whole village 24/7

No jeepney or tricycle is allowed past the barrier controlled and guarded security gate. Taxi's are allowed in but the driver must exchange their licence for a security pass. No Licence, no pass, no entry.

According to a number of independent reports Davao City is supposedly the safest city in the Philippines and the 4th safest in the world. Whether that's justified or not I'm not really bothered. I can only state that I feel safe.

Living in our gated village community doesn't mean our house/lot has any surrounding walls, fences or steel grills at the doors and windows. That doesn't mean to say we will never do that. We already decided to buy a property here and during the renovations we'll incorporate whatever security measures we believe are needed. We've already planned to install double glazed window units all over and if we feel that security walls, camera's or whatever is needed then that's what we'll do.
    It's never out of the question that we would move to another island lock stock and barrel if we believed we needed to. We already have our eye to buying a place outside of Mindanao
    Safety and security is always up there on our retirement living priority list.