Disclaimer: By posting on this web site it is accepted that you have agreed to our Terms. Please DO NOT publish copyrighted material/pictures without the owner’s permission, you are liable for any costs incurred.

Newbie (Restricted Access)

Where is the money coming from?

I have been travelling to the Philippines for the last 20 years. When I first went there with my wife, we were predominantly staying in Manila. What was fairly obvious to me was there were basically two classes of social status, stinking rich or poor.

When we went to her home Province, Illocos Sur it was, for me, like going back 100 years. The poverty was very apparent. I can remember that just to own a tricycle or small motorbike was beyond 95% of the locals.

What amazes me now, particularly in Manila, is the amount of perceived wealth. There are more new cars on the roads on Manila than in my own town of Birmingham. More surprising is that the majority of these cars are gas guzzling, SUV's and 4 x4's. I know fuel is cheaper than the UK, but I would have thought - given the lower salaries in the Philippines - it doesn't make sense to drive these vehicles.

Another sign of change is the amount of condos and new sub divisions (going out to Cavite) that are being built. These are not cheap. I would accept that the condos in Manila carry a premium because of the location. However, the new sub divisions travelling down the SLEX are very expensive - especially for Filipinos.

If we go to a shopping Mall, I have noticed that a cup of coffee in Starbucks costs 180 peso. This is expensive when the average pay in the provinces is 340 peso a day. We have picked up items in SM and put them back on the shelf when we noted the price. The items were cheaper in the UK! It may have something to do with the exchange rate 69 Php/£, but I think there are other factors.