Disclaimer: By posting on this web site it is accepted that you have agreed to our Terms. Please DO NOT publish copyrighted material/pictures without the owner’s permission, you are liable for any costs incurred.

Thread: Newbie Alert!

Newbie (Restricted Access) theycallmeysa's Avatar

Newbie Alert!

Hello everyone, another newbie here.

My name is Ysa, and I'm still currently living in the Philippines, at least for the next 4 weeks. As I am moving to London soon, I want to seek advice about a few things.

I have been granted a UK spouse visa that is valid for 33 months. My question is, am I allowed to travel outside of UK within those months? Say, travel back to the Philippines for holidays, or do I need to stay the whole time if we're planning to apply for ILR in the future?

Next thing would be, what's the best and safest way to transfer my savings there? Haha and being a girl, I don't know if others have the same problem as me on this one or maybe it's just me.

Any advice about packing my things? Like, should I just leave most of my things here and just bring what's necessary? What really makes me sad, is thinking that I might need to leave my books behind. And I don't really buy as many shoes or bags or clothing or make up as other girls.

I read couple of posts about being homesick, and I fear that too. Should I expect now - and just accept - that I'll be homesick once I am there, or should I stay positive and fail anyway? Haha

Would be nice to hear from you guys and any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Hi Ysa, Happy New Year and welcome to the forum, you will get lots of help and info here.

There are other members here who can help you with the info you are asking.