Disclaimer: By posting on this web site it is accepted that you have agreed to our Terms. Please DO NOT publish copyrighted material/pictures without the owner’s permission, you are liable for any costs incurred.

Admin's Assistant ^_^ raynaputi's Avatar

Polite replies to 'Ang taba mo!' & other Christmas party remarks

I used to get asked question #2 every freaking time after I graduated from university. And now, I always get asked question #3 by my family and friends back home!

---

Here are some effective responses to common inappropriate remarks that won't get you into a fight in your next holiday party

We've all been there - that obligatory family gathering where you see people at the end of the year. In one corner is that nosy aunt who is always up in your business, and in another is a tactless cousin who seems to feel she is the fashion police. Here are some effective responses to common inappropriate remarks that won't get you into a fight in your next holiday party.

1."Huy, ang taba mo na! (Hey, you've gotten fat!)" seems almost routine for many relatives to say as "Hello!" When greeted this way, or with any negative comment on your physical appearance, simply smile and say "Thank you! Life is good." You may also turn it into a positive comment by saying, "Yes, I'm so lucky! I feel wonderful!" or "I'm definitely enjoying my life!" Take it a step further by making it a habit to tell them that they look great or that they're glowing. Chances are they will beam all night and think of your compliment fondly, and maybe reflect on how they approached you. Or at the very least you might spread some positive vibes around.