Disclaimer: By posting on this web site it is accepted that you have agreed to our Terms. Please DO NOT publish copyrighted material/pictures without the owner’s permission, you are liable for any costs incurred.

Moving to Manil - Working for UK Company - requirements?

Hi folks!!

First time post here and need some careful advice on visa implications for this Xmas. I have been travelling to and fro from Manila now since 2004 as my partner, a native Filipino is based there. We intend to get married in December 2008 but I would like to get a job secured there before hand. This is proving difficult to do -a lot of companies have shown interest but none yet have so far shown their hand.

My existing company have offered me the opportunity to work remotely which I would now like to do. I would do my usual work through laptop and mobile phone etc. from my apartment in Ortigas and get paid into my UK bank account. I would not be working for a Filipino business or doing business in the Filipino economy so my interpretation is that I can stay on a tourist visa until I get married and have it extended for up to one year or until I get married and then move to the normal non-quota immigrant visa.

Can anybody tell me if this is right or do I need a business declaration even through I would not be doing "business in the Philippines"?

If I extend my visa can I simply say leisure instead of business? Also my flight is scheduled for Dec 14th 2007 to Jan 2nd 2008, would I need to change the departure date to take my extension into account or just leave it as is and buy a flight out of the country later to say somewhere like Hong Kong?

If anybody can shed light on how to work this I would be most grateful as I have 11 weeks to get my backside into gear!

PS I own an apt in Ortigas in my name if this helps anyone, my passport is valid until 2011, I have a clean bill of health and also clean police record and I am a UK citizen.

cheers
    Marcus