Disclaimer: By posting on this web site it is accepted that you have agreed to our Terms. Please DO NOT publish copyrighted material/pictures without the owner’s permission, you are liable for any costs incurred.

Newbie (Restricted Access)

Indefinite Leave to Enter

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie. Hope everyone is well.

I hope someone is able to enlighten me regarding ILE. I have searched high and low online and even rang the British High Commission in Singapore to no avail.

I came across a linkon the UKBA website.

Apparently the page is used as an internal guidance for use by entry clearance staff on the handling of settlement in the United Kingdom visa applications made outside the United Kingdom. And that it is a live document under constant review and is for information only.

As I am about to apply for an Unmarried Visa in the next couple of months, I was devastated upon learning of recent changes in the UK immigration laws as of last year. The below information gave me a glimmer of hope. Although it might be false hopes. Has anyone applied for an Unmarried Visa recently? I would love to hear from you. Also can someone please confirm if the below info from the link above is current or outdated.

Many thanks!

SET5.15 What immigration conditions apply upon entry to an unmarried / single sex partner?

ILE can be granted in situations where:

• the sponsor has (at the date of decision on the application) a right of abode / indefinite leave to enter and;
    • the couple have been living in a relationship akin to marriage for at least 4 years and have been living together outside the United Kingdom during that time and;
    • the applicant has demonstrated 'knowledge of language and life in the UK' (KOL)