Disclaimer: By posting on this web site it is accepted that you have agreed to our Terms. Please DO NOT publish copyrighted material/pictures without the owner’s permission, you are liable for any costs incurred.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie (Restricted Access)

Question Understanding the British (Your Tips Please!)

Dear Everyone:

As you will all see - I am a newbie here and I would very much appreciate all your help.

I have just gotten into a relationship with a wonderful man, and it seems to be going very well. He and I are both professionals in our fields and I think we are both used to working and mingling with other cultures. While he and I have known each other for quite awhile as friends, now that we are in a relationship, we are discovering that there are much more to learn about each other, our unique traits that stems from our respective cultures. As much as I am enjoying discovering more about him, I would also appreciate some input from everyone on this. Things like the british humour, perspective on relationships, family, etc.

Second, my family has already met him and they like him. My family is very close and we have our own careers (that have brought us to different parts of the globe) and are used to being around "foreigners" so I don't think they thought much about me having a "foreigner" boyfriend. Now the boyfriend has been asking me to travel to the UK (we live elsewhere) to visit his family so that I could formally be introduced to them. I know for a fact that he is very VERY close to his parents and although I have met his dad before (long before we were dating), I have yet to meet his mother. I do want to make a good impression and I want very much for them to like me. So make a long story short - I would really like to get some tips on how to get along (and perhaps even impress) the prospective in-laws!

Thanks very much for reading this and again I'd really appreciate everyone's inputs.