PDA

View Full Version : RHB and Ading not your typical

RHB
3rd March 2008, 11:24
how did I get to Philippines/
Me? I came for a visit from the Great White North. Canada that is. Wandered around up north in Luzon, then Cebu. Was staying at Panagsama Beach, near Moal Boal being a would be dive bum, but had an inner ear infection at the time that kept me high and dry. Well not dry, San Mig, and occasional Tequila shots in the evening. Panagsama has these modest little seaside reastaurants on stilts at the waterfront. As I would sit there looking south West sipping my drink and waiting for the Maya Maya I had picked to be grilled, I wondered aloud to he waitress. Hey whats over there? Pointing to Negros Oriental Negros.
She replied with pride, That where my place is. She went on to say it is a place of agriculture, farmers, mountains, and volcanos. Very green, she added. Well, I used to be a farmer once, I lived in he mountains as well. Never saw a volcano, so three good reasons to visit I surmised.

Having planned to return to Cebu in a couple weeks to look up some friends, I decided to ferry over to Negros for maybe a week, two at most. That was a year and a half ago. I had queried the waitress about cities to visit. She was from Dumaguete. So, after doing a little Internet research on lodging I meandered over.

What is it about this place? not sure but I now feel compeled to defend it in the face of critcs, and call it home. Found a good girl, finally got away fom the Boulevard scene, not that it is so bad, but I prefer... well thats another thread.
My wife has a small bussiness that keeps both of us busy, but certainly not rich. a little combination sari sari, eatery, karaoke, drinking establishment. You know the type. Off the beaten path, in the neighborhoods. Native style fixings. Got my broadband nice. Life is good eh?

to be continued; the interim before my honey ading...

fred
3rd March 2008, 12:23