PDA

View Full Version : Driving lesson....

georose
1st June 2015, 01:29
Hi guys, I am planning to start my driving lesson this month, just wonder if anybody here just passed their driving test? I am planning to drive Automatic coz i heard it's easier as i want to drive asap and just buy Automatic car, as i live in london its traffic lights everywhere and frnds of mine says its better to have automatic. my husband is driving manual and its so much going on in the hand and feet... i never drive car before so i am nervous camera in London is like tortures they are everywhere just a little mistake you will be receiving tickets in a week or 2 lol. hope to hear from you thanks....

johncar54
1st June 2015, 07:29
I have been driving for 59 years, motorcycles and cars both manual and automatics.

For sure in heavy traffic an automatic is much better than a manual. Although some think a manual change is more sporty, however, the public highway is not the place for 'sporty driving'.

I remember maybe 40 odd years ago, the police in London changed to automatics for their Area Cars. At first the class 1 and 2 drivers (the highest grade) complained that it would impede their ability to enforce the law and catch speeding drivers. Very soon, they too accepted that automatics were the best.

A couple of years ago I changed my car and went back to an automatic, 7 speed, with a sports button and partial manual over-ride. My reason was that I wanted my wife to learn to drive.

So my advice to everyone is: go for an automatic every time.

SimonH
1st June 2015, 09:04
One thing you should be aware of is if you learn to drive and subsequently pass your driving test in an automatic car, then you will only have a licence to drive automatic cars.
If however, you learn and pass in a manual car your licence will be for manual and automatic cars :smile:

tiger31
1st June 2015, 11:26