PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Philippines

IanB
18th November 2007, 12:11
I admit I am a complete newbie as far as the Philippines are concerned. So I hope you don't mind if I ask the occasional stupid question!

Chatting last night with Mae, she was enthusiastic about foreign food. She said it was hard to buy imported food because it was expensive and you had to be a member to go into the special shops. Maybe I misunderstood - it certainly sounds odd. She might be referring to special shops for retired US military in AC?

Ian

bigtombowski
18th November 2007, 12:19
from what i understand, imported goods are hugely expensive in the phils, and far out of the price range of the average filipino!

but i don't know ... i know someone here will enlighten us :D

Alan
18th November 2007, 13:12
Maybe this calls for a thread I have been thinking of for some time.

See my new thread 'Cheaper here.'

Al.:)

kimmi
18th November 2007, 13:48
i see the connection of ur threads Prof AL and IanB..he he he

fred
18th November 2007, 16:42
I have no idea as I eat local food which can also be expensive in England..
Have you seen the price of balut in Luton??
Horrendous!!

KeithD
18th November 2007, 17:07

I may have 20/20 vision Fred, but it's not that :furious3: good........:icon_lol:

andypaul
18th November 2007, 18:10
Dont know about being a member but i know duty free shops in phill are basically huge hypermarkets, foods, clothes and elctrical goods. Booze and fags are just small sections in comprasion.

When we land in Manila we go up the road to the duty free place (others will know where it is exactly) and mostly buy choclate by huge bags (you normally get some naff free gifts like a water dispenser or a scooter if you buy so much. Also tins of corned beef, coffe and other bits and bobs. You need to show your passport and plane ticket to enter but can bring as many guests as you like.

Alan
18th November 2007, 19:10