PDA

View Full Version : What currency

jake
27th April 2013, 14:26
When you think about money matters what currency do you think in?

Having lived abroad for most of my adult life i used to automatically calculate things in dollars rather than pounds. Now that we have lived here in the Philippines for so long i think in pesos and convert to dollars.

RickyR
27th April 2013, 14:47
I'm constantly thinking in multi currencies; Omani Rials, UAE Dirhams, US Dollars, Pound Sterling and Philippine Peso. I make transactions in all of these currencies during the course of a month. I have bank accounts in three countries and four currencies. I get driven mad some months by the currency fluctuations.

jake
28th April 2013, 03:52
I have a few million Zimbabwean dollars and Vietnamese Dong stashed away for a rainy day :Cuckoo: If the price doesn't improve i may one day buy a grain of rice with them.

stevewool
28th April 2013, 09:02
just the pound to peso rate for me,

Terpe
29th April 2013, 09:01
Unfortunately I have to have transactions in US $, Japanese Yen and British pounds. All for pensions.
Gets to be real headache and I often get my timing wrong.
During 2012/2013 though I managed to make a profit of $108 on good timing and RoE though :xxgrinning--00xx3:
Not much I know, but worth the effort.

Arthur Little
29th April 2013, 11:13
When you think about money matters what currency do you think in?

There aren't many of us left now, I suspect :bigcry: ... but - believe it or not - MY mind still occasionally harks back to the currency I was brought up with ... namely, "good" old £. s. d. Okay, far more complex to calculate in comparison to the present system, I have to admit ... but seems clear to me the transition to decimalisation in February 1971 marked the beginning of spiralling inflation in this country.

stevewool
29th April 2013, 19:44