PDA

View Full Version : Could there be a property crash in 2013?

fred
13th February 2013, 05:53
The head of Odey Asset Management has slammed the government for not properly understanding the economy and predicts that a house market crash is on the cards.

In an interview with the Evening Standard last week, Crispin Odey said that UK home prices are currently “right at the top of the cycle” and could be subject to a painful correction.

He insisted that the UK was in a depression, not a recession, and residential property prices needed to fall significantly before the country’s economy could start to recover properly.

http://www.martinco.com/lettings-agents/chesterfield/news/could_there_be_a_property_crash_in_2013_-7207

Iani
13th February 2013, 12:45
Hmmm I say no.

Well ok I am no expert

My analysis is this though -

1. Negative equity. There is only so far house prices can possibly really fall. After that, people will just refuse to sell. Remember a house is only worth what someone will pay for it. If people refused to pay more than £2.50 for a mansion in Chelsea, then that mansion would be worth exactly £2.50. Simple as that.
People just won't let themselves be so short changed that they can never pay off their mortgages, they simply can't afford to - they will instead not sell and stay put (This would in turn put pressure on house availability and push prices UP).

2. The blasted buy to letters :cwm23: Well they have contributed to the house price increases anyway. If they decided to bail out of the market, then house prices would crash, however most of them are in it for the long term. What is more likely, is if prices came down, then these houses would be hoovered up by these "investors" - once again beating young first time buyers to the post. Again, this would stop the house price crash right in it's tracks.