PDA

View Full Version : am I wrong for feeling this way?

ladyskype
17th August 2007, 08:23
Hi, my British hubby has always hated the UK, as what he's told me. Well, he's had bad experience with schools, had bad experiences with the kids when he was younger, and his family neglecting him despite the fact that he's always been the ONLY one who makes himself available whenever he's needed by any member. I've always told him it's not the place you hate, but some of the people you had been with in the past. And staying in the UK doesn't mean he has to stay with those people that hurt him. I believe we can move somewhere else in the UK, away from the people who hurt him and continue to give him pain.

Now that we're married, he still doesn't like to stay in the UK. He wants to teach in Asia, where native English speakers are in high demands to teach. (I am a teacher myself too, so there's no problem with me, although I know I'll face discrimination, as I am not a Native speaker.)

I only find that as an adventure… but we can’t always stay in Asia teaching, moving from school to school while raising our kids. I want to see him plan how our life will be, and when we have our kids. But sadly, I don’t see any.

If you'll ask me, I'd rather stay in the UK, for practical reasons. We've both agreed to retire in the Philippines, but before that happen, we'll have to earn and save for our future. He’s previously changed his mind that he can stay in the UK as long as we’re together. I thought he’s finally sorted a direction on how our marriage and family will be.