PDA

View Full Version : The Bittersweet Life Of A UK-Based Nurse

Terpe
2nd December 2012, 12:03
Vanessa Austral, 26, worked as a nurse for three years at the Philippine General Hospital before landing a job at the United Kingdom.

On the twenty first summer of my life, I officially became a nurse. Armed with idealism but lacking the wisdom from experience, I embarked on a journey of blood, sweat and tears. I graduated from a nursing college of a posh hospital and I was fully convinced that equality in healthcare is a myth. I told my ambitious self that ‘those who have less in life should have more in healthcare,’ and if this is not possible in a national scale, at least it can start from within. Defying my parents’ wishes, I decided to work in a tertiary hospital which caters to indigent patients. There, I discovered myself.

"I walked the road to disenchantment"