PDA

View Full Version : Airport question

Ako Si Jamie
13th July 2012, 18:22
Just say for example I booked a flight from Heathrow to Hong Kong and also from Hong Kong to the Phils but with a different airline and had to pick my luggage up at HK.

How would I get to the check in desk at HK from the baggage carousel?

I take it there's a way because I'd have to go through immigration otherwise.

I'm asking because I've never done it this way before.

grahamw48
13th July 2012, 18:30
I only helped build the place...and took part in the promotional video for the opening. :)

KeithD
13th July 2012, 18:42
Some airlines may book your luggage all the way through, although due to security these days that rarely happens, so you need to collect your baggage, check-in, and go through the security/immigration again so you may as well have a night in HK :).

Terpe
13th July 2012, 18:45
Just say for example I booked a flight from Heathrow to Hong Kong and also from Hong Kong to the Phils but with a different airline and had to pick my luggage up at HK.

How would I get to the check in desk at HK from the baggage carousel?

I take it there's a way because I'd have to go through immigration otherwise.

I'm asking because I've never done it this way before.

You need to pass through immigration then go to departures and check in.
There's no other way to pick up you bags other than through immigration.
Never been a problem for us.
Just be sure you have enough 'stopover' time to do it, or stay over in HK

Ako Si Jamie
13th July 2012, 18:46
Some airlines may book your luggage all the way through, although due to security these days that rarely happens, so you need to collect your baggage, check-in, and go through the security/immigration again so you may as well have a night in HK :).
So it's like entering the Phils? No visa needed, just the immigration form to fill in?

CBM
13th July 2012, 19:25
If you hold a British passport you can stay in HK for 6 months without a visa.