PDA

View Full Version : Philippine Tourists Spots in Luzon

Jason Jo
24th February 2012, 21:22
Hi Everyone

Newbie here.

I will be travelling to Philippines in one week spending 3 weeks there. I will be focussed on staying in Luzon.

For various reasons (long story) I do not want to take anti malarial tablets but will cover up with repellant.

I read the following:
"anti malrial tablets are recommended for rural areas at altitudes less than 600 m (1,969 ft) on the islands of Luzon

Does that include beaches and other popular tourist resorts which are obviously below 600 metres?

I am trying to plan my itinerary of places to visit but do not know which places are malaria free. What rule of thumb should I use?

For example what about the hundred Islands and rafting or swimming there?

Does anybody have a list of good tourists spots in LUZON Islands (which have "safe" hotels, reasonably priced) which do not require the tablets?

Thanks so much
Jason

raynaputi
24th February 2012, 22:21
take a look at this and it will give you ideas about areas in the Philippines relating to malaria..

http://filipinaroses.com/showthread.php/30988-Philippine-Malaria-Mosquito-Map-Dengue-Fever-Map

Jason Jo
24th February 2012, 22:29
take a look at this and it will give you ideas about areas in the Philippines relating malaria..

http://filipinaroses.com/showthread.php/30988-Philippine-Malaria-Mosquito-Map-Dengue-Fever-Map

Thanks for that. Actually I already saw that map. It doesn't help because it doesn't tell me where the specific safe tourist spots are or answer my other questions. I did try to use it but could not get the answers to my questions. Thanks for trying though!

lastlid
24th February 2012, 22:41
Interesting. I wonder why Samar and Cebu is low risk for malaria?

lastlid
24th February 2012, 22:43
Does anybody have a list of good tourists spots in LUZON Islands (which have "safe" hotels, reasonably priced) which do not require the tablets?

Thanks so much
Jason