PDA

View Full Version : What are your opinions on the Fukushima nuclear problems?

Englishman2010
16th March 2011, 21:55
* Apologies if this is in the wrong section.

The situation at the Fukushima Nuclear plant seems to be worsening every day. The Japanese Gov't are still playing it down, no doubt to stop any more hysteria.

Like the majority of people I'm no expert on nuclear issues, and every time I turn the TV on, another 'expert' is giving another conflicting opinion to the previous 'expert'. None of us really know what its happening over there. All I know is that it is a terrible tragedy watching the poor Japanese inhabitants of the north eastern coast searching for their loved ones and belongings in amongst the remains of what used to be their homes, and now they have to contend with the threat of radioactive fallout from the damaged nuclear reactors.

How do you think this is going to end up?

grahamw48
16th March 2011, 22:08
I agree it is just heart-breaking watching these poor people searching for their relatives amongst the ruins of their towns.

We are so lucky living in a country so untroubled by natural calamities like this .

The Nuclear power stations' weaknesses should serve as a warning to us all.

Imagine one of our own power stations being bombed for instance, and sustaining far worse damage. Scary.

A very 'interesting' situation unfolding in Japan day by day, and a feeding frenzy for the media.

I can only feel compassion for my fellow human beings who have suffered and are still suffering so terribly .

KeithD
16th March 2011, 22:23
Nuclear power is the safest form of energy we've ever had, if it wasn't for nuke power, to sustain the same level of power over the years we'd have pumped about another 20% of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere causing more drought, hurricanes, typhoons, fires, etc, which kill far more than any radiation leak. We've only had one bad one, Chernobyl, and that was because it was flawed.