PDA

View Full Version : salary

antchristie
24th February 2011, 15:34
Dear all
Can any one tell my whats the salary like in Manila for expat?
Also visa whats the best visa to apply for to live in Phili wife is from Manila.thanks in advance.

Englishman2010
24th February 2011, 15:47
You might need to be a bit more specific:Erm:

What is your profession, trade or occupation? Are you going to work for a western company (having been relocated to Ph) or are you going to work for a Filipino company.

I'm guessing at this but would suspect that Filipino companies don't pay anything like the salaries you would get in the west, and the only way you are going to attract a western salary is if you are relocated there by your employer.

antchristie
24th February 2011, 16:06
Hello Englishman 2010
Its an International company.I am Chef by profession and will not be relocated as I am not working currently for the company

Terpe
24th February 2011, 16:28
:Hellooo:Hi antchristie, welcome to the forum :Wave:

As Englishman said, if your employer is relocating you to Manila then your salary will be (or should be) in line with what it is now depending on any negotiating you can do.

If your thinking of just moving to Manila then finding a job, don't expect western salary level it just won't happen. (You'd be lucky to even find a job based on having permit etc)

To answer your question and just as an example, if you could secure a contact centre job, you could expect to start at P10k-P12k per month. That's working 12hr shift rotations.
If you could beat off all the competition to reach supervisor or manager level within say
2-3 years you could expect P18k-Pk30 again on 12 hr shift rotations.

This is based on a family member's info working contact centres in Marikina 2008-2010

Staff turnover is extremely high and conditions very stressful. My family member already quit and returned to Hotel management in Davao.