PDA

View Full Version : seeking job

lady
5th March 2007, 12:25
i just arrived here in London thru spouse visa. I'm registered nurse in philippines .can i ask help where i could apply work here in UK?

andypaul
5th March 2007, 22:08
i just arrived here in London thru spouse visa. I'm registered nurse in philippines .can i ask help where i could apply work here in UK?

Hi im no expert on nursing, but from what i know.

Most Nurses from phill need to be retrained or gain accredation in the UK.
I think it unlikely you could just walk into a nursing job in the Uk.

Im not sure where you are in London, but it maybe worth going to your local Hospital and speaking to the Phill Nurses you see there. They may be able to help advise you where the careers/hr department is who might be able to help.

My Wife has spoken to phill nurses from hillingdon hospital and many are worried about their jobs as belive it or not the UK has a surplus of trainee/lower grade nurses who are having difficulty finding jobs. To top it all there is talk of hospitals in some London areas reducing the amount of nurses they employ:doh

It maybe better to speak to a job agency specializing in nursing/care.
You may find a job in the medical industry but not a pure nursing role.

I think one of the members on here, wife is a qualified nurse in phill but she takes/checks blood samples here in the UK?

Sorry im not giving you much help, and the news is not cheery but sadly that is the way it is at the moment.

Good luck in your search whatever the goverment thinks the normal people would love to see more skillful and dedicated Nurses working in our Hospitals so hopefully soon the job market will change for the good:xxgrinning--00xx3:

joebloggs
6th March 2007, 14:02
yes, my wife works for the nhs in the vampire squad, taking blood from patients, but shes not a qualfied nurse, but a registered doctor in the philippines.