PDA

View Full Version : Driving in the UK on Filipina License

neallie
7th September 2010, 05:35
Hi,
I have been driving a car in the Philippines for the last 2 years and have a vailid Philippines license. I would like to know if anyone is driving on there Filipino license in the UK. Is there a conversion to Uk License or are you made to take another driving test?:D

RickyR
7th September 2010, 06:08
The good news first, you can drive for the first 3 months on your Philippines license. The bad news is that you will need to take a new test (well three tests actually).
I would highly recommend getting some lessons regardless. Driving in the UK is much, much faster then you'll have been used to and failure to comply with UK driving rules will put you into a sticky situation.
As an example, when my missus first drove in the UK, she attempted to 'nudge' out into the traffic, if she hadn't been with an instructor with dual controls, then she would have had an accident as the car coming towards her would probably have not been able to stop in time.
You will also need to buy a computer program which will help you learn the rules and get ready for the theory and test thing with a video. You can buy the software from the likes of HMV and Game for around 9.99 and driving lessons will cost around 14 - 20 pounds per hour. If your like my other half, around 8 hours of lessons will be more then enough to adjust to the British way of driving.

Hope this helps.

scottishbride
7th September 2010, 20:29
I have a Filipino License & Dubai license as well, ( according to DVLA you are allowed to drive here for 12 months after that you need to sit and take the theory and practical test.) I wasn't able to use my Phil license & Dubai one as the UK car insurance here quoted us £1,500. So I have decided to take the driving test here in UK. thank god! Got my UK license and enjoy driving here..Goodluck!

joebloggs
7th September 2010, 20:37