PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone.

jamen
4th December 2009, 12:24
Hello everyone..I'm a newbie here. I'm Angela Tan from the Philippines..I'm a new Registered Nurse. I'm planning to take an NVQ course for a year there in UK, specifically in Birmingham. I would just like to ask, is it possible to acquire a working permit after my course? And can I get a part time job easily while studying? Hoping for your kind assistance. :)

Arthur Little
5th December 2009, 02:12
Hello everyone..I'm a newbie here. I'm Angela Tan from the Philippines..I'm a new Registered Nurse. I'm planning to take an NVQ course for a year there in UK, specifically in Birmingham. I would just like to ask, is it possible to acquire a working permit after my course? And can I get a part time job easily while studying? Hoping for your kind assistance. :)

:Hellooo: Welcome, Angela.

:Erm: ... I believe that once upon a time ... oooh ... maybe something like 5 years ago ... there was a Recruitment Drive to attract nurses from the Philippines - due to their well-earned reputation for dependability and a capacity for being hard-working. However, these days seem to be long gone ... as a knock-on effect of the current economic recession throughout the UK and elsewhere. Moreover, I THINK applicants require to demonstrate at least 12 months' work-related experience, in order to become eligible for registration with the Nursing & Midwifery Council.

Having said that, I can appreciate your desire to build on your existing skills by working abroad ... and, to that end, I have contacted someone who may be able to advise you as to the best way forward. So please stay in touch.

Arthur Little
5th December 2009, 02:34
Off the record, Angela ... I seem to have read somewhere, that there's an organsation known as PNAUK or, to give it its full title, 'Philippine Nursing Association in the UK'. I've no idea where it's located, mind you, :rolleyes: but I understand it liaises with the NMC.

Doc Alan