PDA

View Full Version : Nursing and the NMC registration; guidance please

Pugilist
6th August 2009, 21:27
I am a graduate of nursing from West Negros.
I arrived in the UK in March 09 after successfully obtaining a fiance visa.
My fiance and i are now married and living happily in London.
I want to pursue my nursing career here in the UK, but i understand that the NMC requires that i have at least 12 months experience back home. As your aware there is a huge influx of newly registered nurses in the Philippines but hardly any work particulary in Manila.
I wonder whether anybody else has found themselves in this predicament.
Could you please give me any advice.
Much appreciated.
Diorella

Doc Alan
24th September 2009, 08:08
Hello Diorella,
You are correct in stating that the NMC (Nursing and Midwifery Council) requires at least 12 months' hospital work before registration, and it is a condition of working as a nurse in this country that you register with the NMC.
I have a personal interest in this, being a retired doctor with a Filipina girlfriend who hopes to graduate in nursing from Central College of the Philippines next August (as you will see in my introductory letter to this forum). I do not relish the thought that she would then have to spend a year in hospital(s) in the Philippines before coming to Britain. I understand that the vast majority of nursing graduates from the Philippines do want to work abroad.
I have only recently joined this forum but received a warm welcome. I will watch with interest any replies / advice which I hope you receive, but would ask if you have managed to make contact with any filipino nurses in this country or even contacted the NMC for advice, possibly about doing other healthcare work or gaining experience here.
ALAN

Pete67
17th November 2009, 15:57