PDA

View Full Version : Visa Confusion

dontpushme
27th July 2009, 06:43
I'm a Filipina student in the US but my boyfriend is British and we used to want to move to the Philippines after I graduate next year. Unfortunately, looking at the opportunities for people in my field, I've come to realise that there really aren't many opportunities in the Philippines for me unless I do like a lot of Filipinas do (disregard my Bachelor's and Master's degrees, and find a job, any job). I don't think living in the US would be an option for us either. He just started working and he has some sort of bond with the company that requires him to stay in the UK for a couple more years before requesting to be reassigned elsewhere.

I've been looking for opportunities in the UK and have found some interesting ones. So I may be leaving to work in England if things go well.

My question is if my being on an employment visa will affect my ability to marry my boyfriend, if and when that time comes. Also, would I be required to change to a different type of visa then? I didn't see anything that could answer my question on the border agency's website. Is there anyone here that can help me? I'd really appreciate it.

darren-b
27th July 2009, 07:02
If you enter the UK on a working permit and want to marry in the UK you will need to apply for a Certificate of Approval (COA).

http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/visitingtheuk/gettingmarried/certificateofapproval/

dontpushme
27th July 2009, 07:22
Thank you! That answered a few of the questions in my head. I still have some things I need answers to, but I guess I'll have to wait until after I graduate. Still, would be nice to make longterm plans instead of waiting until two or three months before I get my degree.

Thanks again for the link!

aposhark
27th July 2009, 07:26
Hi,

The following link may not apply to you but it is probably worth you reading it:

http://filipinaroses.com/showthread.php?t=17434&highlight=deport

dontpushme