PDA

View Full Version : I need someone to talk to

britishdetained
23rd July 2009, 06:50
hello, im a newbie here...I came across this forum as my husband is a British national who is currently detained her in the Philippines...i need advise to what to do

Sim11UK
23rd July 2009, 07:51
Oh dear, that dosen't sound to good....Why is he being detained?
I don't have any legal experience & I'm not sure anyone will have much knowledge of Philippine law?

Can you tell us a little bit more, then someone maybe able to offer some advice? :)

Sim11UK
23rd July 2009, 07:58
You need to get in contact with the British Embassy, but I should imagine you have done that already?

aromulus
23rd July 2009, 08:04
hello, im a newbie here...I came across this forum as my husband is a British national who is currently detained her in the Philippines...i need advise to what to do

I have merged and moved your posts to the legal section....:xxgrinning--00xx3:

I am extremely sorry to hear about yours and your husband's misadventure and I can offer all my simpathy.

I am sure the other members will suggest more or less the same advice as I do, which is to seek proper legal advice and probably to instruct the lawyer to counterclaim against the officers involved for seeking bribes to drop the case.

Unfortunately in the Philippines, the "foreigner" is always an easy target for a shake down, regardless wether the charges against him are real or not.

In the Uk, or anywhere else in the West, very few people would have to spend time in jail before a trial.

Godspeed.

Sim11UK
23rd July 2009, 08:11

Sorry! I didn't read your other posts when I replied here.
Just try and get on this forum, when you can.
Some mention of this case, has been reported on here before.

scott&ligaya
23rd July 2009, 09:01
Wow this is scary,

I am sorry for your situation