PDA

View Full Version : Fiancee Visa and complications

MarBell379
19th March 2009, 01:16
Hi
Its been a while since Ive posted here, and a year now since I met my girlfriend and I'm on my way to Philippines next month to see her again for 3 weeks. Its my first time in Phils (she was in Israel before until her Visa expired and she went home voluntarily), so I'm looking forward to it.
I'm planning on asking her to marry me so wish me luck :)

I'm currently still waiting on a Decree Absolute which has been a looong time coming, but should be through soon. Assuming this happens, we'd like for her to come here so we can be together as soon as we can.
I know we can apply for a fiancee Visa, and we then need to be married within six months. Is it imperative that we have this date set and organised before she comes, or can we organise when she gets here?
Other than that, I think we're OK on this front. We have loads of evidence of relationship, and this next trip will be our fourth time together.

She has a daughter in Phils, which is where the complications kick in. Of course we want her daughter to come to be with us too (Shes 5). Unfortunately, as the father did a runner before she was born, the family decided that it would be better for the daughter to be registered in an aunts name. This means the wrong name is on the birth certificate - does anybody know if this will be an issue?
(I'm told it might even be possible to change this in Philippines (sounds strange to me but you never can tell) )

If it is, I have no real concern over adopting, but we'd need to follow due process and this is likely to take a couple of years :(

All constructive comments are welcomed.
Thanks

darren-b
19th March 2009, 05:53
I know we can apply for a fiancee Visa, and we then need to be married within six months. Is it imperative that we have this date set and organised before she comes, or can we organise when she gets here?