PDA

View Full Version : Comparing your qualifications

ANDRES25
17th February 2009, 20:39
I'm just wondering, has anyone used UK Naric http://www.naric.org.uk/index.asp?page=15 to compare your qualifications in the Philippines to UK standards?

Can someone pls. share your thoughts and experience on this? I am a BSE ENGLISH graduate here in Phils and a Licensed Teacher but I really don't think I am qualified to teach in the UK so I really want to know what steps should I do for me to land a teaching job in the UK.

acs
17th February 2009, 20:57
im also a teacher in the Philippines before coming here up until now i havent have a job yet :NoNo::doh:bigcry: im also interested what others have experienced on this...

macaco
18th February 2009, 13:04
Hi Andres,

My girlfriend got her qualifications converted in British degree. She is a CPA in Phil and just got in contact with Naric, paid the fee and 15 days later she gets the paper works.

NARIC got list of schools of the Philippines and since my girlfriend graduated in University of the Philippines, they said it can be converted. It is not the same as she could practise as accountant here but every time a company asks for her CV, she attached it and so they could compare her for the rest of their candidates. It's a great help.

Alan
18th February 2009, 14:12
I am really sorry to say this but, as an ex head teacher in the UK, I can tell you that a degree from the Philippines would not be acceptable for a teaching job in the uk.

The minimum requirement in the UK is now a B.Ed. degree, or other degree plus a P.G.C.E. from a British or European university or college.

There are, of course, ways around these requirements, however, to explain them would be long and complicated and frankly, not worth the trouble involved.

Al.:)