Disclaimer: By posting on this web site it is accepted that you have agreed to our Terms. Please DO NOT publish copyrighted material/pictures without the owner’s permission, you are liable for any costs incurred.

Financial Threshold Advice

Could someone please tell me if Immigration take into consideration overtime when applying for a spouse visa. I work full time on a 40 hour contract with a salary of £17,000 but, as i work in the care sector, I am obliged to do compulsory overtime, such as residential sleepins. With this overtime, I make in excess of £20,000 which can be proven by my pay statements. I e-mailed Immigration about this and all they said was that the decision would be made by the Clearance Officer after he had received our application.

Hi David, welcome aboard Filipino UK

Which Category do you plan on applying under ?

Hi Terpe, firstly thanks for all the advice you have given my wife Sarah in the past. She says you have been very helpful. I believe we will apply for the 5-year tier system, if that makes sense. My wife has already filled out spouse visa form VAF4A. The next step is, I will send the money for her to pay for the visa so she can book an appointment to submit all our papers to the British Embassy in Manila.

Sarah has passed her English test and has recently been screened for TB. I am in the process now of getting all my papers together to send her - including my last 6 months pay statements - hence the question about whether they will take into consideration compulsory overtime I do, which takes me over the £18,600 threshold. Any advice would be appreciated.

Hi David,
    What I meant by my question was which category under the Financial Requirement are you thinking of applying under.

Your specific employment conditions make a significant difference to the category and the documentation needed to be submitted.

In principle UKVI do allow overtime etc